Cooking ~ Homemade pies

Normally these are done a few days after the stew has been made and after we have had it for dinner. This then gives us the same meal but in a different variation. Not this time. These pies were made to be PIES!

image

So into the slow cooker went a bunch of meat. All the left over veggies. Onions, broccoli, beans, snow peas, garlic & carrot.
In went a tin of chopped tomatoes & a packet of slow cooker mix beef with onion gravy. Water was added as per the instructions of the mix and the lid went on to cook on high for 4 hrs.

After it cooked it was then paced into large muffin tins that were lined with puff pastry.

Here are my secrets

I put the bottom of the pies in the trays first and cook them for about 5 minutes on 200 till the pastry starts to puff. This way I know the bottoms will be cooked.

To thicken my pie mixture I simpy add gravy powder and stir it through till it thickens… The more you add the thicker it becomes.

For the kids pies I kept the meat chunky but blended the sauce veggies and all before I thickened 🙂

I dont stress about the tops. I just put squares on and tuck the edges down.

image

image

image

In the oven they go for about 20 – 25 minutes till crispy brown and yummy..
What is your secret pie recipe?

image

2 thoughts on “Cooking ~ Homemade pies

  1. Last week I made a quick pasta sauce with cubed chicken thighs and bechamel sauce, and used the leftovers for small pies to freeze for school lunches. My son loved the pies, and how the cheese was ‘yummy & runny’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

