R U OK?

Time to make you all aware if you are not already that

15th September is R U OK? Day.

I would like to thank Gemma from My Big Nutshell for making me aware of this as now I GET how important those 4 very simple letters can be & how they can change the way someone actually does feel.

Over the last few months I have had many conversations with people who I know personally, people who I know as acquaintances & complete strangers. I was a little worried that putting it out there might make some people judge me. I would have to say mostly it has been the opposite, I have numerous highly regarded people & business owners who have shared exact same stories from their lives back to me. I have honestly been shocked by the amazing support that I have been given and advise that has been shared. I have gone from feeling like a complete nut case about to cross the sanity line to feeling completely normal with what was happening and how I was feeling.

As a person with knowledge you would never believe that your mind has such a strong power to do some thing like this and for you to be completely helpless in the way you react and deal with its hardballs.

It doesnt take very much at all to ask some one if they are OK? and to lend an ear to hear them and share a story.

I wasnt feeling suicidal but I am sure many travel along the road I have followed but get given the wrong turn and end up in a harder place than me. Please all remember on 15th September 2011 to use these 4 letters & ask some one R U OK? without knowing you may of saved a life.

2 thoughts on “R U OK?

  1. Love your work Chelle. Thanks for being so open about how you’ve been feeling. Sharing your story particularly about the response you have received by speaking up and out can give people the courage to ‘answer the truth’ and also take those steps to make change and get support.

    The whole concept of R U OK? Day on 15th September is to start conversations so little problems don’t turn into big ones. To be accessible and to take the time to have the conversation. The R U OK? Day website is a tremendous resource for all giving guidance for people on how to ask “R U OK?”, particularly because it can be a blocker when people don’t know where to start. The site also give access points for people who need to talk about how they are. Answering the truth is the best thing you can do for yourself and finding support even if at the first turn you may not get what you need, keep going and find that place of refuge.

    Of course too asking people R U OK? Should be done all the time. Sometimes the people we don’t think are at risk of suicide are the ones that must be engaged the most. People can be skilled at hiding their true feelings and loneliness in a room full of people.

  2. R U Ok? is such an important initiative, I’m sure everyone knows someone who has been affected by depression, anxiety etc in someway and most are too ashamed to ask for help. Some may not even realise. I didn’t realise I wasn’t coping until the NUM at the hospital asked me when I booked in to have my baby last year. No one had really asked me how I was. or at least in a way that looked liked they cared. I instantly bawled my eyes out. Hubby sat there in silence mouth wide open. I couldn’t look anyone in the eye. Maybe its also time to ask ourselves R U OK? & hope that we have the strength to be honest.

Leave a Reply

