Part 2 DONT PANIC!!

What made the edge slip from my feet….. Nothing….just silly stuff….dont worry about me …..
How many of us say these things? Infact it is layer upon layer, running in fight & flight mode till one day the elastic snaps!!!!!

OH SHIT – MELTDOWN!!!

For me it was a combination of the following

> School holidays with fighting children
> Rainy weather to not go out side
> Roof renovations with wind and rain on our back area so that was also not able to be used
> Cracked gyprock from builders in non renovated area!!! Arghhhhh
> Rain leaking through the roof in non repaired areas like toilet and bathroom
> Financial year change in the middle of school holidays – who ever planned THAT was not a business owning parent!!!!
> My own facebook and blog pressures I created on myself
> Slow paying clients at work meaning lack of funds and no wages for us personally for 4 weeks.

mmmm I am sure there are more – even when writing the list now it doesnt seem like much but all this together!!!!

Overload!!

My life never ever stops & the panic cycle got me and took hold HARD !!

I often have people ask me how I do or cope with it all. I just do!! Running 5 businesses, 2 of these with other business partners, 12 bank accounts, 2 kids, 1 husband who needs settling from time to time & life…. Thats most of my whole bunch of nothing…. as well as dancing & futsal and dear husband often away….mmmm
Well guess what – this time I didnt cope!!

What this did to me

Your body has this great way of telling you to slow down & smell the roses way before the flowers bloom.

A week after our end of term concert – after a week of rehearsals & late nights. 5 dancers, 8 rehearsals & 4 shows with our family team support person away…heres what happened:
> a swollen calf muscle with pain
> suspected blood clot in leg
> blood thinning injections
> ultrasound
> xray
> anti inflammatories
> chest & back pain
> tightening in the chest to breathe

This escalated to the point one night where I called the home dr & on his examination an ambulance was called & a visit to the emergency department was arranged to check for clots and a heart attack.
> ECG
> Blood pressure
> Pulse rates

Freak out time !!! AARRGGHH!!!!!

Medically everything was right. I was at the point that everything was becoming too hard. My body was physically stopping me.

I am one of those people who just keeps going. If I am told to rest. I would tell you I am and I would convert my bed to the office. I would not stop and REST…..I would lay in bed and do the work as I have too much to do…. But guess what…. I had to stop!!!

How to prevent stress & anxiety

Remember all of this is my version on what to do. Each of us are different and deal in varied ways.

> Remember to stop and breath… STOP COMPLETELY… Close your eyes and take full breaths that fill your soul. I was constantly taking short shallow breaths.
> Know your limits. I never use to accept help. I do now. As well I would never say NO. I am learning how..
> Make time for you..all YOU… every single day. Even if it is just 5 minutes that is your gift to you. You will be thankful.

Here are 2 quotes for you
Rome wasnt built in a day….
No man is an army….

Stress, Anxiety or even Depression can sneak up and bite even the best of us on the arse & trust me while doing this it will knock your feet clean out from under you til you are sitting on the ground wondering what the hell happened!!
Anxiety for me was not like a wound that was bleeding.. As no body could see what it was doing to me and yet for me I was completely terrifying myself.  With the right support around you and knowing to trust YOURSELF slowly you will look around and assess where it has landed you. You will pick your self up and you will find the right places to get help and guidance. Feel free to share this post with others as it can be a hard battle to fight but I am standing on the edge of the world starting again and this time I know I will be alright.

2 thoughts on “Part 2 DONT PANIC!!

  1. I have been following you on facebook for a while now, I was interested in your decluttering stuff, and in the last couple of days I have been reading your blog.
    Thank you for what you have written, i feel like you are inside my head!! i have been suffering from anxiety for years and although I know my triggers, sometimes it just comes and bites you on the arse! it’s nice to know your not the only one, i live in regional victoria and anxiety and panic disorders are rarely talked about, and like you i react adversly to medication.
    I will be following you through your journey now, you have given me the inspiration to keep going myself, thank you again for putting youself out there so that people like me know we’re not alone.
    cassii watson

Leave a Reply

